Book Review: Before Dawn (#17/30)

Title: Before Dawn

Author: Naomi Isimemen

Published By: Naira Books & Press

Release Date: June 2019

Genre: Non-fiction

Format: Paperback

Length:56 pages

Synopsis

Before Dawn is the true story of a young woman whose idyllic marriage is hit by a rollercoaster of a series of heartbreaking events. When she finds herself headed towards a rendezvous with heartache and loss, will she be swept away by the storms of fate or will she stand fast as an anchor for herself and her young family? Naomi’s story sheds light on the worst types of pain that any woman can experience.

Review

Okay, so I got this amazing book sent to me from the author’s publicist a little while back and had planned to read it towards the end of July. However, I was quite intrigued by the book’s synopsis which caught my attention over and over again. I guess it’s safe to say my curiosity got the better part of me.

Being a pretty short book, I finished reading it in one sitting. Let’s just say, the best time to read this book is on day when you’re curled up at home with tea or coffee or whatever rocks your boat, so you can bawl your eyes out and feel the writer’s pain and learn from her experiences.

The book tells a gripping story of the shattering experiences of a young resilient single mother of four who tries to navigate her way through life after experiencing some of the worst kinds of pain and loss.

As I read this book, I was easily immersed in the writer’s world and stages of grief as well as the hope, pain and denial deeply felt by her. I appreciated the simple use of language to convey essential themes present in the book such as the intricacies of family ties in an African setting, love, pain and loss. So many valuable lessons were hidden and laid bare in the central themes of the book. I also appreciated the writer’s use of imagery as my imagination created her world and lived in it as I read.

The book is divided into two parts: Book One- Pain and Book Two- Survival. I expected much more from Book Two as I felt the ending was quite hasty and clumped together. I would have loved a more detailed expression of the writer’s survival process as well as that of her kids which could serve as a guide to people going through or having experienced the same kind of loss and hardship from family. As I do not know the writer personally, I also found it quite difficult to place the timeframe of certain experiences as they unfolded.

All in all, I would say this book is a great read full of valuable lessons. It makes one reevaluate a lot about life and put things into perspective.

Verdict

I would definitely give this book a strong 8.5/10

P.S You can follow the author on instagram or twitter. You can also purchase a copy of the book here or on amazon.

Published by

Rachel

Hi there! I'm Rachel. I am a Lawyer, Blogger, Booktuber and Mental Heath Advocate. I am Passionate About Life's Amazing Lessons, Books, Psychology, New Discoveries And Everything In Between! ♥️

Leave a comment