Book Review: I’m Telling The Truth But I’m Lying

Title: I’m Telling The Truth But I’m Lying

Author: Bassey Ikpi

Published By: Harper Perennial

Release Date: 2019

Genre: Memoir, Non-fiction

Format: Paperback

Length: 248 pages

Synopsis

In this remarkable memoir-in-essays, Basset Ikpi explores her life-as a Nigerian American immigrant, a black woman, a slam poet, a daughter, an artist – through the lens of her mental health and diagnoses of bipolar II and anxiety.

In I’m Telling the Truth but I’m Lying, Bassey Ikpi breaks open our understanding of mental health by giving us intimate access to her own. Exploring shame. Confusion, medication and family in the process, Bassey looks at how mental health impacts every aspect of our lives- how we appear to others. and most important to ourselves – and challenges our preconceptions about what it means to be “normal”. Viscerally raw and honest. The result is an exploration of the stories we tell ourselves to make sense of who we are – and the ways, as honest as we try to be, each of these stories is also a lie.

Review

Whoosh!

Where do I start from?

Hands Down one of the most beautiful books I have ever read in a long while! Such honesty and openness that the author exhibited in penning this work of art.

As a mental health advocate, I loved the book because it highlighted certain conversations that should be had in Nigeria on mental health. Through Bassey Ikpi’s eyes, readers are able to understand what someone who goes through anxiety and bipolar disorder feels.

I recommend for every Nigerian, mental health advocate, Nigerians with mental health issues and everyone dealing with Biplolar II and/or anxiety (whether or not you know what it’s called).

I had the pleasure and honor of interviewing Bassey Ikpi and loved every second of it!From her book to mental health issues to Bassey’s journey with Bipolar II and Anxiety to Motherhood and mental health awareness in Nigeria, we had an amazing time discussing the book!

Watch the full book review and my interview with Bassey Ikpi by clicking the links below:

Published by

Rachel

Hi there! I'm Rachel. I am a Lawyer, Blogger, Booktuber and Mental Heath Advocate. I am Passionate About Life's Amazing Lessons, Books, Psychology, New Discoveries And Everything In Between! ♥️

Leave a comment