Book Review: The Fishermen

Title: The Fishermen

Author: Chigozie Obioma

Published By: Cassava Republic Press

Release Date: 2015

Genre: Fiction

Format: Paperback

Length: 301 pages

Synopsis

Nine-year-old Benjamin is the youngest of four brothers. They live in the rocky hills of Akure. When their civil servant father is transferred to another town, the boys begin misbehaving; smashing windows, severing chicken heads and praying truant to follow billionaire politician M.K.O. Abiola’s campaign trail.

For six weeks, they take to fishing in the forbidden Omi-Ala river. There they run into Abulu, a filthy yet visionary madman whose pronouncement that the eldest boy, Ikenna will be killed places a dark and fearful cloud over the brothers.If they prophecy is true, which of them will be the murderer? Abulu’s words have devastating yet redemptive consequences for the family, as guilt and sadness bind the brothers, while their parents sink into despair.

Review

WHOOSH!

Chigozie Obioma knows his stuff!!! He does! This man can write!

I thought that this book was beautifully written and the author’s use of words simply blew my mind. I enjoyed the character development, the time setting and the plot of the book. As soon as I opened the book, I was thrust into this world that kept me captivated.

Watch me share my thoughts on this lovely book by clicking on the video below:

Published by

Rachel

Hi there! I'm Rachel. I am a Lawyer, Blogger, Booktuber and Mental Heath Advocate. I am Passionate About Life's Amazing Lessons, Books, Psychology, New Discoveries And Everything In Between! ♥️

Leave a comment