These 5 Podcasts Have Changed My Life!

I was never really a fan of podcasts and did not at anytime feel compelled to join the “Podcasts Train”. I was content with watching and listening to content I resonated with on Youtube and discovering new channels there (I do not watch a lot of Television on purpose…more on that in another blog post).

So although I would scroll through my social media, reading testimonies of avid podcasts listeners and how the content they subscribed to had been life-changing, I would share in their excitement for five seconds a move on. Podcasts were just “not my thing”.

Fast forward to the recently where for the past five or six months, I have found a way to inculcate listening to these amazing podcasts in my morning routine (LOL, I say “morning routine” as if I have some serious ritual I undergo in the mornings, but you get the general idea). Anyway, let’s just say I’m glad that I hopped on that train.

These five podcasts have changed my way of thinking and my life in general:

  1. Cleaning Up The Mental Mess with Dr. Caroline Leaf

Anyone who knows me, knows I am really passionate about psychology and mental health. I love this woman and her amazing podcast!

Dr. Caroline Leaf is a cognitive neuroscientist with a PhD in Communication Pathology and a BSc in Logopedics and Audiology, specializing in metacognitive and cognitive neuropsychology. Her passion is to help people see the power of the mind and the link between science and God as a tangible way of controlling their thoughts and emotions, learning how to think and learn and finding their sense of purpose in life.

So far, I have learned so much just by listening to Dr. Leaf’s podcast every week. I have learned about the mind-brain connection, how to manage/reduce stress and anxiety, tips to prevent and overcome mental burnout, how to use mindfulness and deal with a crisis in the heat of the moment, tips to deal with performance anxiety and overcome mental blocks, how to deal with difficult people and tips to protect your mental health while dealing with difficult people and a whole lot more!

Most importantly, I love the fact that she provides practical, straight-to-the-point and useful tips that one can apply to take care of his/her mental health.

You can subscribe to Dr. Leaf’s podcast here.

2. On Purpose with Jay Shetty

Arrghh!! JAY SHETTY! This is one wise man beyond his years. I cannot get enough of his profound truths. His podcasts drop every three to four days and I am in love with the content I receive on there.

Jay Shetty is an award-winning host, storyteller and viral content creator. Since launching his video channel in 2016, Jay’s viral wisdom videos have garnered over 4 billion views and gained over 20 million followers globally. This makes him one of the most viewed people on the internet internationally. After meeting a monk when he was 18, Jay started redefining success for himself. He now wanted a life of service, impact and passion as opposed to money, fame and power.

After graduating with a 1st class BSc (Hons) Degree in Behavioral Science from Cass Business School, inspired to make a difference in the world, at 22 Jay went to live as a monk across India and Europe. He traded his suits for robes, shaved his head and lived out of a gym locker for 3 years. He now shares the valuable lessons he learned from his monkhood as well as valuable lessons. Jay’s stated goal is to make wisdom go viral as he spreads his message of motivation and positivity.

On his podcast, he typically has guests with whom he discusses important issues on a wide range of topics such as learning how to define success for yourself and set your goals, being open about mental health, healthy ways to heal, getting in touch with yourself, disconnecting and gaining clarity, ways to gracefully deal with rejection, creating healthier food habits, finding purpose and aligning with it and so so much more!

You can check out Jay Shetty’s podcast here

3. The Robin Sharma Master Sessions

ROBIN SHARMAAAA!!!

If you have read any of this man’s books, you’ll have just an idea why I am in love with him and his wisdom.

Robin Sharma is a writer, best known for his The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari book series. He worked as a litigation lawyer until age 25, when he self-published MegaLiving, a book on stress management and spirituality. Perhaps I am biased towards him because of his background in law, but this man speaks golden truths.

Robin imparts so much wisdom on topics on Leadership and Personal Mastery such as leadership values, learning how to get comfortable alone, learning how to produce your masterwork, beating distractions, rising above hard times, practical tools to recover your focus, protecting your energy and so much more. His calm soothing voice is an added bonus!

You can check out Robin Sharma’s podcast here.

4. Kwik Brain with Jim Kwik

Jim kwik is a world expert in speed-reading, memory improvement, and optimal brain performance. He is the CEO and Founder of Kwik Learning, a leader in accelerated learning with online students of every age and vocation in over 150 countries. He is also a keynote speaker, trainer and advisor.

Jim Kwik’s podcast majorly provides “bite-sized brain hacks for busy people who want to learn faster and achieve more.” I have learned a lot listening to this podcast every other three days. Jim shares on tips such as tips to sleep better, how to use your power to get what you want, how to read more books and learn to read faster, how to overcome stress and relieve pressure (he did an amazing episode with Jay Shetty on this), tips on mastering habits, healing emotional wounds, how to make better choices in life, fighting mental fatigue and so on! ARGGHH!! I’ve learned a lot!

I think the interesting about Jim’s story is that he was known as the “boy with the broken brain. ” A childhood head injury at age five left him struggling in school. For a while, he even believed I could never be as good as other kids when it came to learning. As the years wore on, Jim undertook a journey to learn about his brain – why it was broken and what he could do to fix it. That journey led him to discovering different learning habits, including accelerated learning systems and tactics.

Jim shares that he discovered that, no matter the circumstances, we can rebuild our brains. And after working on himself, he realized my brain was not broken…it just needed a better owner’s manual. This shattered his own limiting beliefs – and over time, it became his passion to help others do the same.

You can check out Jim Kwik’s podcast here.

Tom Bilyeu is an American entrepreneur best known as the co-founder of Quest Nutrition, the second-fastest growing private company in North America on the In. 5000 for 2014.

Impact Theory is a business and mindset-focused interview show that will teach anyone aspiring to greatness the secrets to success. Tom Bilyeu hosts the show and is known for his passion and preparation. He tends to dig deep and brings the urgency of someone who is hungry to put what he’s learning to immediate use.

I have learned so much from this podcast such as how to become decisive in the face of paralysing fear, how to stop negative behaviour and strengthen your mind, how to achieve a calm state, how to take a social media break or quit social media together and master focus and so much!

You can check out Tom Bilyeu’s podcast here.

These podcasts relate to topics I am passionate about. You can find a host of podcasts on topics you are passionate about where you can learn so much!

And if podcasts are not “your thing”, then I challenge you to try something new today! You’ll be surprised at what you may find!

What podcasts are you currently listening to?

P.S, From 5th August 2019, I’ll be sending out life-changing, straight-to-the point and concise weekly emails guaranteed to help start your week right! Click the link here to sign up so you don’t miss out on anything! https://mailchi.mp/06750630c287/weeklyemails

Published by

Rachel

Hi there! I'm Rachel. I am a Lawyer, Blogger, Booktuber and Mental Heath Advocate. I am Passionate About Life's Amazing Lessons, Books, Psychology, New Discoveries And Everything In Between! ♥️

3 thoughts on “These 5 Podcasts Have Changed My Life!”

  1. Interesting blog post, Rachel.

    For me, I listen to Jay Shetty, Robin Sharma and Bilyeu whenever I need a brain reset. I’ve also been listening to Jim Kwik a lot in recent times and I can feel my limiting beliefs changing. I also listen to Lisa Bilyeu’s “Women of Impact”.

    Maybe I’ll check out Caroline Leaf’s podcast. Her work sounds cool.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment